Baseball Articles

Matt Harvey Wins IBWAA Midseason Cy Young

Mets phenom Matt Harvey has won the midseason Cy Young Award in a vote from the IBWAA.

ibwaaDifferent from the exclusionary Baseball Writers Association of America, the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America allows anyone who writes about baseball on the Internet to join. I am a proud member (and designer of our logo).

Harvey took the National League pitching honors while Max Scherzer was the American League choice.

Carlos Gonzalez and Miguel Cabrera took their respective league’s MVP awards. Mariano Rivera and Jason Grilli were voted top relievers, and Jose Iglesias and Shelby Miller won the rookie awards. John Farrell and Clint Hurdle were named top managers.

As far as my ballot, I voted for all of the winners except for AL pitcher (I chose Clay Buchholz) and I picked Mike Matheny as NL manager.

You can learn more about the IBWAA at

One thought on “Matt Harvey Wins IBWAA Midseason Cy Young

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?