Pete Alonso Wins Rookie of the Year

Pete Alonso was named the National League Rookie of the Year on Monday. He was one vote short of being unanimous, as one Brave-loving, Met-hating writer (probably) cast a vote for Mike Soroka.

Alonso had a ridiculously incredible year, slamming a rookie record 53 home runs with 120 RBIs. He becomes the sixth Met to win the award, following in the footsteps of Tom Seaver, Jon Matlack, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden and Jacob deGrom.

Soroka finished second and Fernando Tatis, Jr. third.

Now we wait until Wednesday to see if deGrom joins Alonso on the awards podium; he is the favorite to win his second consecutive Cy Young award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?