Mets Articles

Jacob deGrom Wins Second Straight Cy Young

Jacob deGrom has won the National League Cy Young award for the second straight season on Wednesday, joining an elite group of pitchers would have accomplished the feat.

And a bit surprisingly, the vote was not even close. Just like last year, deGrom received 29 of the 30 first place votes for a total of 207 points. Max Scherzer and Hyun-Jin Ryu both had 72 points.

deGrom’s name is now included in the exclusive list of back-to-back Cy Young winners:

Sandy Koufax
Denny McLain
Jim Palmer
Pedro Martinez
Roger Clemens
Greg Maddux
Randy Johnson
Tim Lincecum
Clayton Kershaw
Max Scherzer

Take note — of these 10 men, five are in the Hall of Fame, two will eventually be enshrined, two have no shot, and one is a PED cheat. So as I wrote a couple of months ago, deGrom is on a path to Cooperstown.

So after an up and down season for the Mets, it has been a good off-season thus far, with Pete Alonso winning Rookie of the Year, and now deGrom’s award. Hopefully Brodie Van Wagenen can keep the good will flowing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?