Baseball Articles

IBWAA Names deGrom, Verlander Top Pitchers

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) Wednesday named our own Jacob deGrom and Justin Verlander the top pitchers in their respective leagues (I don’t think we’re allowed to say Cy Young!).

deGrom was the winner for the second straight season, once again beating out Max Scherzer 684-400. Hyun-Jin Ryu, Stephen Strasburg and Jack Flaherty rounded out the top five. I voted for deGrom, Stephen Strasburg, Ryu, Scherzer, and Mike Soroka.

Over in the American League, it was Verlander over teammate Gerrit Cole 718-648. Charlie Morton, Shane Bieber and Mike Minor were next. I had Cole, Verlander, Bieber, Morton and Lucas Giolito.

Now we wait until later today to see if deGrom wins the actual Cy Young again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?