No One Elected to Hall of Fame

It was the greatest Hall of Fame Ballot since the likes of Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb and Walter Johnson graced the first one — the all-time home run leader, a seven-time Cy Young Award winner, a member of the 600 home run club, a 3000 hit club member and the greatest hitting catcher of all time. And none of them was elected to the Hall.

hall of fameCraig Biggio came closest with 68% of the vote.

The votes against Barry Bonds (36%), Roger Clemens (37%) and Sammy Sosa (12%) are understandable given the evidence that they each allegedly used PEDs.

But lumping Mike Piazza (57%) in with those guys is just not fair. There is no evidence, circumstantial or otherwise, that Piazza used steroids. Back acne just does not count as evidence.

Not voting for Biggio is even more puzzling. Granted, he was never a truly dominant player, but the did have more than 3000 hits. That alone should put him in the Hall of Fame on the first ballot.

Others who failed to make the cut include Jack Morris (67%), Jeff Bagwell (59%), Tim Raines (52%)  and Curt Schilling (38%).

So now next year’s Hall of Fame ballot will be extremely crowded, with this year’s crop joining first-timers Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Mike Mussina and Jeff Kent.