Baseball Articles

IBWAA Announces 2013 Awards Finalists

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA), of which I am a proud member (and logo designer!) on Tuesday announced the finalist for its 2013 awards. Here they are. I included whom I voted for if you are interested. I wrote more about my picks here:

ibwaaAmerican League Most Valuable Player:

Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
Chris Davis, Baltimore Orioles
Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
(I voted for Cabrera)

National League Most Valuable Player:

Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds

AL Cy Young:

Yu Darvish, Texas Rangers
Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox
Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers

NL Cy Young:

Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins
Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals

AL Rookie:

Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays
Jose Iglesias, Detroit Tigers
Wil Myers, Tampa Bay Rays

NL Rookie:

Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins
Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Dodgers
Hyun-Jin Ryu, Los Angeles Dodgers

AL Reliever:

Greg Holland, Kansas City Royals
Joe Nathan, Texas Rangers
Koji Uehara, Boston Red Sox
(Mariano Rivera)

NL Reliever:

Aroldis Chapman, Cincinnati Reds
Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers
Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves

AL Manager:
John Farrell, Boston Red Sox
Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians
Bob Melvin, Oakland Athletics

NL Manager:
Fredi Gonzalez, Atlanta Braves
Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates
Don Mattingly, Los Angeles Dodgers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?