Baseball Articles

Kershaw, Scherzer IBWAA Cy Young Winners

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced Wednesday that its members have voted Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer as the Cy Young winners in their respective leagues.

Both were no brainers. Kershaw had a sensational season, leading the National League in ERA at 1.83 ERA and strikeouts with 232 to go along with his 16-9 record. Adam Wainwright and Jose Fernandez rounded out the top three, with Matt Harvey finishing fourth.

Scherzer was the only 20-game winner in all of baseball with his 21-3 record. He was second in the American League in strikeouts with 240 and had a 2.90 ERA. He beat out Yu Darvish and Chris Sale.

Like probably everybody else, I voted for both Kershaw and Scherzer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?