Baseball Articles

IBWAA Names Bellinger, Judge Top Rookies

In the worst kept secret of the year, the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) on Monday named Cody Bellinger and Aaron Judge the rookies of the year in their respective leagues. The only shock was that they were both not unanimous.

Bellinger did indeed get all 146 first-place votes. Paul DeJong and Josh Bell were second and third. My ballot had Bell and DeJong flipped.

Over in the American League, Judge managed 143 of the 146 first-place votes. Even more incredibly, someone left him off the ballot entirely. The anti-Yankees bias strikes again! Andrew Benintendi and Trey Mancini followed. Again, I had Mancini and Benintendi flipped.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?