Baseball Articles

IBWAA Elects Ken Griffey, Jr. & Edgar Martinez to Hall of Fame

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has elected Ken Griffey, Jr. and Edgar Martinez to the Hall of Fame Wednesday. Griffey was unanimous. The announcement comes a few hours before that other group announces results of its vote.

It should be noted the IBWAA was correctly ahead of the curve, electing Mike Piazza on his first ballot (as well as Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines in subsequent years).

Griffey was obviously deserving — 630 home runs, 10 Gold Gloves, an MVP award.

Martinez had a reputation has one of the best hitters of his generation, batting .312 for his career.

You can see my ballot here.

The complete vote:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?