Baseball Articles

IBWAA Names Kimbrel, Holland Top Relievers

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) Friday named Craig Kimbrel and Greg Holland the top relievers in their respective leagues.

Kimbrel topped Ardolis Chapman and Kenley Jensen for the Hoyt Wilhelm Relief Pitcher of the Year, as the award is called in the National League. It is the third win in a row for Kimbrel, for whom I voted.

Kimbrel had another sensational year — 50 saves, an impossible 1.21 ERA with 98 strikeouts in 67 innings.

The American League award is named after Rollie Fingers. Holland beat out Koji Uehara and Joe Nathan. My choice, Mariano Rivera, failed to crack the top three.

Holland’s stats were remarkably similar to Kimbrel — 47 saves, the same 1.21 ERA (I guess it’s not so impossible) with 103 strikeouts in the same 67 innings. Why didn’t I vote for him (I had him second)?! I hate the Yankees!

Stay tuned for the rest of the IBWAA awards next week — rookies on Monday, managers Tuesday, Wednesday for pitchers and MVPs on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?