Mets Articles

Yoenis Cespedes Wins Silver Slugger

Yoenis Cespedes was named as one of the National League Silver Slugger winners Thursday night, the first Met to win the award since David Wright in 2008.

Cespedes is the 12th Met to win a Silver Slugger; overall, the 12 Mets won the award 21 times. Mike Piazza won it five times, twice each for Wright, Carlos Beltran, Darryl Strawberry, Howard Johnson and Gary Carter, and once each for Dwight Gooden, Mike Hampton, Keith Hernandez, Elgardo Alfonso and Jose Reyes.

Cespedes, of course, opted out of his contract and his return to Flushing is up in the air. So it could be another seven years before another Met takes home the silver hardware.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?