Baseball Articles

IBWAA Announces Rookies, Managers of the Year Awards

Award season for the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has begun, with the announcements of the rookies and managers of the year.

Jonathan India was the overwhelming choice for National League Rookie of the Year with 191 points. Trevor Rogers was second with 112 points and Dylan Carlson third with 31 points. I voted for India, Patrick Wisdom and Carlson, in that order.

Over the in the American League, Randy Arozarena finished first with 139 points. Adolis García and Wander Franco were second and third, with 76 points and 56 points, respectively. My vote was different. I had Ryan Mountcastle first with Garcia and Azozarena second and third. I think voters were confused because Mountcastle actually received votes last season, but he retained his rookie status this year. He already won the Player’s Choice award and he will likely win the BBWAA vote.

For NL Manager of the Year, Gabe Kapler of the Giants was the winner with 193 points. The Brewers’ Craig Counsell was second with 82 points and now former Cardinals manager Mike Shildt was third with 44 points. I voted for Kapler, Counsell and Brian Snitker of the Braves.

In the AL, Kevin Cash of the Rays was tops with 131 points. The Mariners Scott Servais was second with 102 points and Dusty Baker third with 55 points. I had Cash, the Red Sox Alex Cora second and Servais third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?