Mets Articles

Juan Lagares Wins NL Center Field Gold Glove

Juan Lagares has won the National League Gold Glove in center field, it was announced Tuesday. He beat out Denard Span and Billy Hamilton.

gold glove
Juan Lagares wins Gold Glove.

The news does not come as a shock to any of us who watched Lagares play on a regular basis. The guy is simply phenomenal. He makes the tough plays look easy, and he somehow makes impossible plays possible.

Lagares becomes the third Mets outfielder to win a Gold Glove; Tommie Agee won in 1970 and Carlos Beltran nabbed it three times.

Juan Lagares is also just the 10th Met at any position to win a Gold Glove. In addition to Agee and Beltran, there was Bud Harrelson, Doug Flynn, Keith Hernandez (six times), Ron Darling, Rey Ordonez (three), Robin Ventura and David Wright (two).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?