Baseball Articles

Fernandez, Myers Win IBWAA Rookie of the Year

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced on Monday that Jose Fernandez and Wil Myers have been voted Rookie of the Year in their respective leagues.

Fernandez had one of the greatest rookie seasons of all time, pitching to a 2.19 ERA and posting a 12-6 record with 187 strikeouts in 172.2 innings for the Marlins. He beat out Yasiel Puig and Hyun-Jin Ru, both of the Dodgers. Puig also had a sensational year, but Fernandez was in the majors for the entire season, something that probably counted against Puig. By the way, I voted for Fernandez.

Over in the American League, Myers was the Rookie of the Year in an extremely weak field. Myers made his big league debut with the Rays in mid-June and appeared in only 88 games. He batted .293 with 13 home runs and 53 RBIs. He topped Jose Iglesias and Chris Archer. I also voted for Myers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?