Mets Articles

R.A. Dickey Wins Cy Young Award

R.A. Dickey capped off his dream 2012 season by taking home the Cy Young Award. The announcement was made live on the MLB Network Wednesday evening. Dickey is the third Met to win the award — Tom Seaver won it three times, Dwight Gooden once.

r.a. dickey
R.A. Dickey is your 2012 NL Cy Young Award winner!

It wasn’t even close — Dickey got 27 of the 32 first place votes to finish with 209 points. Clayton Kershaw lagged behind with 96 points, and Gio Gonzalez was third with 93 points.

Dickey certainly deserved the award — he led the National League in strikeouts, innings pitched, complete games, shutouts and games started. His 20 wins and 2.73 ERA were both second.

Of course I predicted this!

Over in the American League, David Price won the award in a very close race over Justin Verlander. Price got 14 first place votes and 153 points. Verlander had 13 first place votes and 149 points.  Jered Weaver was third with 70 points.

I had Price beating Verlander and Weaver, so I was right about that one, too.

One thought on “R.A. Dickey Wins Cy Young Award

  • Dave

    Well deserved

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?