Mets Articles

Jacob deGrom Wins Cy Young Award

It was announced Wednesday night that Jacob deGrom is the Cy Young award winner in the National League in a near-unanimous vote. He becomes the fourth Mets pitcher to win the award, as well as being the starter with the fewest number of wins to take the honor.

jacob degrom
Jacob deGrom wins Cy Young.

deGrom collected 29 of the 30 first-place votes. The other on went to Max Scherzer, who finished second.

Jacob deGrom had a tremendous year for the Mets, leading all of baseball with a 1.70 ERA, and finishing second in strikeouts (269) and innings pitched (217) in the National League. Scherzer led in both categories.

Of course, deGrom finished with a paltry 10-9 record. But in these days of allegedly advanced statistics, no one but me cares about wins anymore. So deGrom was an easy choice for those writers for Cy Young.

deGrom joins Tom Seaver (three times), Dwight Gooden and R.A. Dickey as Mets pitcher who have taken home the hardware.

While I might disagree, I am obviously happy deGrom won. It is nice for a Met to win such an award. Hopefully he can do it again — and next time, with more wins (I don’t ask for much!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Why ask?